FMI Announces Elections of 2008 Board Members

Food Marketing Institute (FMI) recently announced the election of 30 directors to the FMI Board. FMI also announced the election of a chair and four vice chairs to its Board.

Elected and reelected directors are Joseph Azzolina, Sr., president of Food Circus Supermarkets, Inc., Middletown, NJ; A.N. John Basha, Jr., vice chairman of the Board of Bashas’ Inc., Chandler, AZ;  Lawrence S. Benjamin, COO of Ahold USA, Inc., Carlisle, PA; Bradley W. Brookshire, chairman of the Board of Brookshire Grocery Company, Tyler, TX;  James Buchanan, president and CEO of Laurel Grocery Co., LLC, London, KY; Daniel G. Coborn, chairman of the Board of Coborn’s, Incorporated, St. Cloud, MN;  Richard B. Cohen, chairman and CEO of C Wholesale Grocers, Inc., Keene, NH;  Joseph S. Colalillo, president of ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Inc., Flemington, NJ; Ronald B. Edenfield, president of Wayfield Foods, Inc., Atlanta, GA; Steven Goddard, president and CEO of WinCo Foods, LLC, Boise, ID; Oscar Gonzalez, COO of Northgate Gonzalez Market, Anaheim, CA; Thomas M. Honer, president and owner of Harvest Market, Fort Bragg, CA; Lee Ann James, president of E.W. James Sons, Inc., Union City, TN; Anthony Longo, president and CEO of Longo’s Brothers Fruit Markets Inc., Ontario, CN; Angel Losada Moreno, CEO of Grupo Gigante, S.A.B. de C.V., Mexico City, Mexico; John Lucot, president of supermarket operations and COO, Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA; Peter L. Lynch, chairman of the Board, CEO and president of Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., Jacksonville, FL; Tokutaro Masui, president and CEO of Kinokuniya Co., Ltd., Tokyo, Japan; Norman C. Mayne, president and CEO of Dorothy Lane Market, Inc., Dayton, OH; Robert G. Miller, CEO of Albertsons LLC, Boise, ID; Richard A. Parkinson, president and CEO of Associated Food Stores, Inc., Salt Lake City, UT; Arthur Potash, CEO of Potash Bros., Chicago, IL; Senator Feargal Quinn, president of Superquinn, Dublin, Ireland; Gonzalo Restrepo, CEO of Almacenes Exito, S.A., Medellin, Colombia; David R. Skogen, owner and chairman of the Board of Festival Foods, Onalaska, WI; Mike Stone, president and CEO of Mollie Stone’s Markets, Mill Valley, CA; Ruediger Strein, director of OHG Fegro/Selgros, Neu-Isenburg, Germany; Craig C. Sturken, chairman and CEO of Spartan Stores, Inc., Grand Rapids, MI; Bruce Weitz, president and CEO of Kings Super Markets, Inc., Parsippany, NY; and Michael T. Williams, president of Williams’ Apple Market, Memphis, TN.

Elected as FMI vice chairs were Richard “Ric” N. Jurgens, chairman, CEO and president of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA; Fred Morganthall, president of Harris Teeter, Inc., Matthews, NC; Gary Phillips, president and CEO of Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc. (AWG), Kansas City, KS; and Norman S. Rich, CEO of Weis Markets, Inc., Sunbury, PA.


Steven C. Smith, president and CEO of K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc., d/b/a Food City, Abingdon, VA, was elected chair of the FMI Board; and Jeffrey Noddle, chairman and CEO of SUPERVALU INC., Minneapolis, MN, is the immediate past chair.

Login or Register to post a comment.