Foot Locker Foundation names scholarship recipients

Foot Locker Foundation, the charitable arm of Foot Locker, announced the 20 recipients of the Foot Locker Scholar Athletes Program. Each student will receive $20,000 in college scholarships, totaling $400,000.

The scholarship program, funded by the Foot Locker Foundation and administered by, honors students who demonstrate academic excellence and exemplify strong leadership skills in sports and within their communities. To date, the program has awarded $1.2 million to help deserving high school student athletes pay for school.

"We created this program three years ago to provide an opportunity for higher education for exceptional student athletes who have made a positive impact within their communities and might not have been able to attend college otherwise," shares Ken C. Hicks, chairman, president and CEO. "We are proud to share the incredible stories of these 20 inspiring individuals, who epitomize all of the virtues and values we are looking for in a Foot Locker Scholar Athlete."

The Foot Locker Scholar Athletes Program aims to ease the burden of tuition for students who demonstrate a commitment to their education and are poised to be future leaders in their community.

Following are this year's 20 winners, who will join the program's previous two classes of 20 Foot Locker Scholar Athletes each, totaling 60 scholarship recipients in its third year.

  •     Aaliyah Danielson – Woodbury, Mn.
  •     Bryan Carabello – Bronx, N.Y.
  •     Carson Arthur – Roanoke Rapids, N.C.
  •     Christina Soto – Miami, Fla.
  •     Cole Scanlon – Coral Gables, Fla.
  •     Diwas Adhikari – Dallas, Texas
  •     Evan Mercer – Marietta, Ga.
  •     Hannah Moran – Lawrence, Kan.
  •     Joshua Davis – Los Angeles, Calif.
  •     Karoline VanVoorhis – Dallas, Texas
  •     Kathleen Kanaly – San Francisco, Calif.
  •     Kimberly Ann Simpson – Eagle Point, Ore.
  •     Lillie Meakim – San Diego, Calif.
  •     Maria Brouard – Dover, N.J.
  •     Michael Gonzalez – Houston, Texas
  •     Nadaysia Brooks – Stone Mountain, Ga.
  •     Orestes Marquetti – North Las Vegas, Nev.
  •     Ralphe Etienne – Nanuet, N.Y.
  •     Travis Gayle – Jamaica, N.Y.
  •     Vivian Nguyen – Fort Worth, Texas



Login or Register to post a comment.