NRF exec chairs new benefits coalition

Washington, D.C. - A broad-based group of organizations including large and small employers, pharmacy benefit managers, providers, health benefits advisers and health plans from across the country have launched the Affordable Health Benefits Coalition (AHBC). The Coalition’s main priority is advancing policy ideas that it says will help people obtain more affordable health coverage.

The newly-formed AHBC is chaired by National Retail Federation (NRF) VP and employee benefits policy counsel Neil Trautwein and directed by Stacey Rampy, a principal at Mehlman Vogel Castagnetti. The Coalition is advancing a number of policy priorities including:

  • Balancing the often competing priorities of affordability and benefit design in future consideration of essential health benefits;
  • Ensuring flexibility for employers and health plans in benefit package designs including high value provider networks and cost-sharing; and
  • Adopting additional means to promote continuous coverage.

“The Affordable Health Benefits Coalition seeks to focus the health care debate on the affordability of health care coverage,” Trautwein said. “The AHBC will promote regulations and non-partisan policies that improve the affordability of coverage and care.”

The Coalition includes a wide variety of members including: NRF, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors (NAW), National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU), Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association (BCBSA), American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), Pharmaceutical Care Management Association (PCMA), American Rental Association (ARA), Retail Industry Leaders Association (RILA), Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc. (ABC), National Council of Chain Restaurants (NCCR), Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA), Associated General Contractors of America (AGC), International Foodservice Distributors Association (IFDA), American Supply Association (ASA) and the Council for Affordable Health Coverage (CAHC).

Login or Register to post a comment.