Shopko announces winners of annual scholarships

GREEN BAY, Wis. — The Shopko Foundation has announced the recipients of its Teammate and Family Scholarships for the 2013-2014 school year. The foundation awarded $75,000 in scholarships to 30 students in 10 states.

The Shopko Foundation annually awards post-secondary scholarships to Shopko employees and their dependent children. The $2,500 scholarships are awarded through a competitive process based on a student's academic record, leadership, community activities, honors and goals. Recipients were determined by an independent selection committee made up of educators and administrators from Wisconsin colleges and universities.

"The Shopko Foundation is committed to promoting healthy lifestyles and educational opportunities for our neighbors in all the communities where we serve," said interim CEO and Colo.O Mike Bettiga. "We understand that, more than ever, education is the pathway to opportunity. It is our privilege to recognize these outstanding students and support them as they build the foundation for fulfilled and productive lives."

The following students were awarded scholarships:
•    Miranda Brown (Greenville, Wis.)
•    Kenneth Musial (Conover, Wis.)
•    Jenessa Buseman (De Pere, Wis.)
•    Caitlynne Naughton (Neillsville, Wis.)
•    Katie Callahan (Twin Lakes, Minn.)
•    Tyler Nehring (De Pere, Wis.)
•    Kaleesha Diefenderfer (Lakewood, Colo.)  
•    Kimiya Nourian (Salt Lake City, Utah)
•    Jaren Dyreson (Glenwood, Minn.)  
•    Hannah Oberle (Lincoln, Neb.)
•    Emily French (Dubuque, Iowa)   
•    Mikael Paulik (Rochester, Minn.)
•    Alexandra Grathen (De Pere, Wis.)  
•    Elysia Rodriguez (Freeport, Ill.)
•    Danica Gullicksrud (Onalaska, Wis.)
•    Jacob Schmitz (North Branch, Minn.)
•    Landon Isabell (North Platte, Neb.)  
•    Rebecca Schnier (Rochester, Minn.)
•    Megan Johnson (Edgerton, Wis.)  
•    Samuel Smukowski (Green Bay, Wis.)
•    Sarah Joosten (Cameron, Wis.)
•    Chloe Stockheimer (Green Bay, Wis.)
•    Grace Kenny (Wayne, Neb.)    
•    Anastasia Thesing (Lewiston, Minn.)
•    Bailey Klawitter (Livingston, Mont.)
•    Kayla Walsh (Whitelaw, Wis.)
•    Ashley Limesand (Sanborn, N.D.)  
•    Madison Walters (Kalispell, Mont.)
•    Kaitlin Martin (Kingsford, Miss.)      
•    Ellen Western (Rice Lake, Wis.)

Founded in 1962 and headquartered in Green Bay, Wis., Shopko is a $3 billion retailer that operates more than 330 stores in 21 states throughout the Midwest, Mountain, North Central and Pacific Northwest regions. Retail formats include 134 Shopko stores, 176 Shopko Hometown locations, 5 Shopko Express Rx stores and 18 Shopko Pharmacy locations. The Shopko Foundation is the retailer's charitable arm supports established nonprofit organizations with a proven record of success in maintaining solid, critical programs or innovative new organizations and programs supported by established nonprofits or successful leadership. The foundation issues grants to support organizations or programs that help citizens of all ages maintain or improve their physical health and help students succeed in school and become self-sufficient adults.

Login or Register to post a comment.