Online sales tax collection rules take effect in 10 states

BY Marianne Wilson

Statutes and regulations that require online retailers to collect sales tax on online orders from residents of 10 states go into effect Monday, Oct. 1, 2018.

The regulations, the details of which vary by state, apply to online retailers that do not have a physical presence in the taxing jurisdiction. The laws go into effect Oct. 1 in the following states: Alabama, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Michigan, North Dakota, Washington and Wisconsin. Similar laws will go into effect in Connecticut and Iowa in the coming months.

Thirty-two states have now passed statutes or regulations to require sales tax collection by remote sellers, according to


Leave a Reply

No comments found



Do you expect your business to be challenged by the ongoing escalation of the the heightened U.S.-China trade dispute?